6 Comments
author

Thanks for the comments, everyone. I think about Dot often, especially when I write. Among other things, she was our office grammarian.

Expand full comment

What a great story! I remember Dot and your office in the 1980s.

Expand full comment

As a librarian, this makes me so happy. I love how libraries evolve with their communities - people are always surprised that we're so much more than books. My favorite part of my job is helping people find their passions. And Carnegie libraries are so gorgeous!

https://melanietheconstantreader.substack.com/

Expand full comment

Libraries are like comfort food or hugs from a dear friend. Our daughter is a librarian in Hanover, NH and as a child the librarian told us to let her take out as many books as she wanted, whether she could read them or not so we always went home with 10+ books from all areas of the library.

Expand full comment

Wherever I travel, I try to visit the library.

Expand full comment

Special places to be sure!

Expand full comment